Beside the sea is how you look at me, and beside me is where I want you to stay, for everything may look like it’s blue, but just know that through everything I am not going to forget about you, and because of that, I have loved you from the very start. But if you haven’t known, then I am telling you today and every day that I love you this way even though we are beside the sea, and you are looking down on me, waiting for me to dream you in my sleep. As I watch the waves, I can almost hear your voice saying,

Climb through the window. I want to come in and see you, and before I can even close my eyes, you are there right beside me, just as you are with me every time I am sitting on the boardwalk beside the sea, so won’t you come and dance with me and let the waves carry what is left of you and me as we are both right here with your arms right beside me?

Looking through old photographs of you and trying to remember how it was I saw you, and when you came into my life, I didn’t know what you wanted with me around that time. We were barely freshmen in High School when I first said in sophomore year that I loved you, and it may have been my first time saying it, but I have to admit you took it quite well, and you even said you loved me too. I know that day we were both feeling very different emotions, but nothing for me has changed. I still love you like that every day, and I hope you still love me that way, too.

Beside the sea, I know you look at me with a smile, and you try to hide it, but I can tell the way you look at me is how I know that you truly liked me, and even though you never said it, I do appreciate you showing it because that meant more to me than words that you could show it through your actions, and like my heart that was beating out of my chest, I just wanted you to know that I love you even if you are not beside the sea.

Climb through the window. I want to come in and see you, and before I can even close my eyes, you are there right beside me, just as you are with me every time I am sitting on the boardwalk beside the sea, so won’t you come and dance with me and let the waves carry what is left of you and me as we are both right here with your arms right beside me?

We may be on different sides of the waters, but I will always love and wait to see you and hopefully be able to meet you again, even though it feels like it’s been a while. It may feel like we are on a different frequency, but I hope nothing will change.

3 thoughts on “Beside the Blue Sea: Love Poems by Moonlight

Leave a comment