Leaving my heart behind was the hardest thing I ever had to do because as much as I loved him I knew I needed to have him find me instead of me being the one that has to do all of the chasing and as I left the last year on a good note I decided to make this year a more positive anecdote where if leaving was better than hurting than I rather take the plunge and change time rather than just changing direction.

Leaving my heart was a necessity but it was like a leftover task on my to-do list to complete and once I checked it off it was like I was no longer carrying all of the missing pieces in the back of my locket and waiting for it open again even though I locked and threw away the key a long time ago so that I wasn’t reminded of the memories that stuck to my brain like a photograph.

Leaving my heart was like the last page of the book that needed to be written before my pen ran out of ink and I was left with the same blank pages in my diary entries but instead I could fill the lines and not leave anything out except for my heart that hasn’t stopped beating since the first day I met him.

Leaving my heart was another reality that felt like I was skipping across the stepping stones without skidding all over the road with my tears that acted as a shield to protect my heart from all the shattered glass but only if the pieces were that easy to pick up and paste.

Leaving my heart was better sorry than safe because I could end the bandage before the blood continued to bleed out and then I am left with a scar on my record because I couldn’t white it out fast enough for mw to cry tears on the lines as the ink of each drop was my bloodeless vows that I cried to fill as chapters of leaving behind all of my past mistakes.

Leaving my heart was easier said than done but it was something that I felt I needed to do otherwise I was stuck in a cadaver heart of broken glass that stabbed me before the blood could leave my heart that wrapped like a curtain around me and hid me like a mask of petals and roses.

https://girlieontheedge1.wordpress.com/2024/01/03/its-thursdays-six-sentence-story-link-up-71/

https://weeklyprompts.com/2024/01/03/weekly-prompts-wednesday-challenge-leaving/

9 thoughts on “Leaving My Heart: A Cadaver Heart’s Mask

  1. I would submit it better to “leave your heart” now, with the familiar pain/heartache than continue to carry it indefinitely. Surely as time passes, it will morph into something way more painful.
    It’s always easier said than done. The doing provides time and time provides an alternate perspective.

    Effective tool, repetition at the beginning of each sentence. Each sentence a little story in itself, part of the whole.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. (Open secret, ’round here that we read Sixes as much for learning and improving our own efforts as we do for entertainment)…
    Title? Damn!
    The repetition thing (forget the cool greco-latin term for the rhetorical device) extra Damn!

    and an intrinsic rhythm embedded in the words themselfs

    not bad, yo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment