You kept me flying without
Falling to the ground a stellar magic
That was almost the force of gravity
Where my wings already felt the courage
And strength to take flight where
There may have been some second guessing
But I never wanted to believe those thoughts could
Manifest because my heart was stronger than that
And through all the lessons I’ve learned I got a
Good picture of the qualities I am looking for
One for sure is to not be treated as a stranger
But to know when my wings have reached their limits
Because you can’t tell a broken butterfly to fly
If their wings are broken and their heart
Doesn’t get a flutter and if that were to be the
Case then it would be time to tape up those
Wings that are broken to fly away and get away
Instead of staying broken hearted and wingless
Because being the damsel in distress was not the
Role I wanted to transform into I much rather
Have skipped the bursary if I knew the price would be
My wings into a broken heart.
Butterfly wings
Where the whistle was a decibel
Of a planchet heart.

https://gmgblog.ca/2023/08/27/five-word-weekly-challenge-2334-2/

Leave a comment